CFEngine #3.0.5


Ok, so I saw a posting for CFEngine on my facebook page from LINUX Magazine I believe so I thought I would check it out… As usual I used a fresh vm, recently snap-shot-d knowing full well I may need to roll back without much effort.  incidentally, if I haven’t said it already, and if it is not painfully obvious to you, use vm’s for all your testing… it is so much easier to roll back to a snapshot taken before you start (assuming that you do that before you start any new configurations).   I use VMWare 6.5 for most of my work, we run ESXi4 for the prod infrastructure, but I have had no issues running loads of vm’s on the machine app running on a Win2K3 64-Bit IBM xSeries 336. Anyway, on to the 20 or so lines of silly-ness…

For CentOS v5.5…

CFEngine 3.0.5
cd /home/software
wget http://www.cfengine.org/tarballs/download.php?file=cfengine-3.0.5.tar.gz

You can check to see if you have all of these requirements first or just be lazy and install them anyway:

yum list pcre* db4* perl-BerkeleyDB.i386 bison* flex
yum install -y pcre* db4* perl-BerkeleyDB.i386 bison* flex
./configure
make
make install
mkdir -p /var/cfengine/masterfiles
cd /var/cfengine/masterfiles
cp /usr/local/share/doc/cfengine/*.cf .
cp /home/software/cfengine-3.0.5/inputs/*.cf .
/usr/local/sbin/cf-key
/usr/local/sbin/cf-agent –bootstrap
ps waux | grep cf-

Done… Now you have to go and configure everything else.. LOL But at least you can get started without much thought for the installation.  I am now working all of my builds on CentOS v5.5… No issues yet 🙂

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by irsanbauer on June 10, 2010 - 10:15 am

    I am more familiar with Open SuSE distro, but I think all the Linux OS would be nice, never disappoint its users

  2. #2 by gmconklin on June 8, 2010 - 9:48 pm

    I should mention that there was an RPM available for this but it was not the latest version so I opted to build my own…

  1. Tweets that mention CFEngine #3.0.5 « A Technological Farce -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

